CAPE TOWN – President Jacob Zuma has appointed SABC board members recommended by parliament‚ his office announced on Tuesday.

The announcement follows looming court action after Zuma missed a deadline to approve the new board. He was accused of deliberately delaying the decision for political reasons.

Bongumusa Makhathini is chairperson‚ with Febe Potgieter-Gqubule as his deputy‚ the presidency said.

Other board members are:

– Krish Naidoo

– Khanyisile Kweyama

– John Matisonn

– Mathatha Tsedu

– Rachel Kalidass

– Michael Markovitz

– Victor Rambau

– Dinkwanyane Mohuba

– Jack Phalane

Media Monitoring Africa had planned to file an urgent court interdict on Tuesday to compel the president to appoint the SABC board.


PHOTO: President Zuma has appointed SABC board members. File photo. 
Image: Robbie Tshabalala


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s