Former Energy Minister Tina Joemat-Pettersson. Picture: GCIS

CAPE TOWN – Former Energy Minister Tina Joemat-Pettersson has become the third Cabinet minister to resign as a Member of Parliament after being axed.

Parliament on Thursday confirmed her decision to give up her seat.

Joemat-Pettersson was fired as Energy Minister in President Jacob Zuma’s Cabinet reshuffle last week.

Her resignation will be effective from last Friday (31 March) as are those of ex-ministers Dipuo Peters and Mcebisi Jonas, who have also stepped down.

Joemat-Pettersson was not immediately available to comment.

It remains to be seen whether former Tourism Minister Derek Hanekom and his Cabinet colleague Ngoako Ramatlhodi, the former Minister of Public Service and Administration, will join the exodus from the African National Congress’ caucus.

Meanwhile, former deputy Finance Minister Mcebisi Jonas has also resigned as an ANC Member of Parliament.

The office of the ANC’s Chief Whip confirmed earlier on Thursday that Jonas will no longer serve as an MP.

Jonas was axed from his position last week when President Jacob Zuma announced changes to his Cabinet.

The former deputy Finance Minister was the second former minister to resign as an MP after former Transport Minister Dipuo Peters’ announced her resignation as Member of Parliament on Wednesday.

Rumours that Mcebisi Jonas had resigned as an ANC MP started circulating on Wednesday. In its statement confirming that Jonas’ resignation took effect on Friday, the Office of the ANC’s Chief whip pays tribute to him.

The statement says Jonas served as a deputy minister and an MP “with absolute distinction” and thanks him for his service both to the party and the people of South Africa.

Jonas made headlines when he made public allegations that the Gupta family had approached him in late 2015 to offer him Treasury’s top job.

He later deposed an affidavit making the same allegations for former Public Protector, Thuli Madonsela’s State of Capture report.



  • Eye Witness News

PHOTO: Former Energy Minister Tina Joemat-Pettersson. Picture: GCIS


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s